WendyCity Private Tours

0 Posted by - June 29, 2016 - Tours, WendyCity

Perhaps you have a special occasion coming up, you have guests coming into town, your schedule doesn’t make a regular tour easy to do, or you simply want something unique and personal.  One of my private tours might be just the thing.  If you have a specific interest, let me know; I’ll customize a Chicago tour for you.

 The Private Tours

Call or email me to arrange (at least one week in advance is appreciated): wendysue302@yahoo.com, 312-810-6609.  $100 minimum for private tours.

  • The Loop Architecture: Chicago history and hidden beauty.  A veritable skyscraper museum, the Loop also has the most breathtaking interior architecture (think: Tiffany mosaics and stained glass, Frank Lloyd Wright, glorious lightcourts, sleek Art Deco).
  • What The Lady Wants.  A tour of the famous Marshall Field’s department store for fans of the historic novel by Renée Rosen.
  • The Devil in the White City: For fans of The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America by Erik Larson.  Driving and walking the sites of the 1893 Columbian Exposition, talking architecture and mind-boggling history, using lots of historic photos.
  • Chicago Music: Soundtrack of the City.  Celebrate the roots of jazz, blues, rock in Chicago on this walking tour that peeks into famous live venues, listens to recordings of the great music recorded in Chicago along the way, and finishes with some old-school jazz and cocktails.
  • Louis Sullivan: Secret and Sublime.  He was Frank Lloyd Wright’s “beloved master” and he’s my favorite architect.  Let me show you why.
  • State Street Retail and Architecture History: from the 1860s to the 1960s, Chicago’s Great Street was a shopping mecca that rivaled New York, London, and Paris.  With many of the original buildings still standing, and plentiful historic photos and video, we return to that exciting century.
  • Art Deco Deluxe: an in-depth look at Art Deco in Chicago, for serious design and architecture fans of this 1920s-30s style only.
  • An Art-Architecture Pairing Tour:  a fast-moving, interactive tour by car or bus, pairing buildings and art, talking about the connections, and giving you time to photograph yourselves with both.
  • The Chicago River: at the heart of the city, we explore the river’s fascinating history and stunning architecture while enjoying the new Riverwalk, one of the best ways to experience Chicago.
  • Sister Carrie’s Chicago: an evocative tour based on the famous 1900 novel by Theodore Dreiser, about a country girl coming to Chicago and living the American Dream.
  • The Best of Chicago: by car, foot, train, boat: I will customize a Chicago tour just for you, whatever your interest, and whether it’s your first or your fiftieth visit.

21527985169_248eeb4dc3_zImages by Bob Segal

No comments

Leave a reply

Book Your Tour!